Treble haul for Hildred

PIC: (Left to right): THE FINALISTS: Wayne Cox, Stuart Dunlop, John Secker, Colin Fisher, Gary Fitzsimmons, Mujeeb Pervez, Patrick Hildred, Mark Hildred, Tina Favell, Bob Pearson, Chris Clements, Andy Baxter, Gary Williamson, Ruth Simpson, George Cooper, Pete Andrews, Ady Proctor, Edy Goddard. (Photo taken by Andy Mitchell)

Over 70 players took part, but on Saturday night there were 6 different winners of the main competitions in Boston Squash and Racketball Club’s annual Club Championships - with Mark Hildred winning the main Buchner Open 30 years after first winning it at the age of 16 in 1981.

Mark Hildred, Pete Andrews, Ady Proctor, Bob Pearson, Ruth Simpson and Patrick Hildred were all victorious in their respective categories, while Stuart Dunlop, Wayne Cox, Mujeeb Pervez and Gary Williamson succeeded in the plate competitions.

In the squash tournaments, the Buchner Open, Over 35s and Over 45s titles were all retained by Mark Hildred, while Pete Andrews won the Over 55s tournament. Ruth Simpson once again took the prize in the Ladies’ category and Patrick Hildred won his third consecutive junior title. In the Racketball Open, Ady Proctor ran out as champion with Bob Pearson succeeding in the Racketball Over 45s.

Finals night started with the junior final. It was the last year in the junior tournament for both of the finalists - Edy Goddard and Patrick Hildred. The latter took the first game 9/6, before Edy bounced back 9/4 to level the games at 1-1. Despite the setback, Patrick went on to come from behind in both of the last two games to win the final 9/6, 4/9, 9/4, 9/6.