top of page

Adam regains squash title from Ady

Adam Hildred won the main 'Buchner Open' squash event at the Boston Squash and Racketball Club Championships 2019, while runner-up Ady Proctor went a step further in the Racketball Open the week before to regain the title of club racketball champion.

It's the second time Adam has won the Buchner Open, and he had to work hard to beat reigning champion Ady in an exciting final - 11/9, 11/6, 6/11, 9/11, 11/7.

The racketball and squash finals now take place on separate nights.

Ady's defeat in the squash final was a reverse of his fortunes in the Racketball Open's, where he beat Gary Fitzsimmons with a controlled performance.

Back to the squash, and Katie Price retained the ladies' title with a 3-0 win over Tina Favell.

David Stones won a seniors double, winning the over 45s against first-time finalist in that category Jason Hadland, and retaining his over 55s title by defeating Stu Dunlop.

At the other end of the scale, the club currently has a thriving junior section and some very promising players emerging. This year’s final saw defending junior king Ollie Cawston defeat Sam Proctor, who was competing in his first final.

Ollie completed a good night for him by winning the most improved player of the year award, as nominated by club steward Pete Andrews.

The squash category winners were completed by defending champion Jake Fountain, who defeated debut finalist Tom Kemp in the over 35s section.

The racketball age group categories were again very competitive. Tim Booth and Jason Hadland went head-to-head in two finals - the over 35s and over 45s. Tim came out on top in the over 35s showpiece, with Jason managing to reverse this with a 3-2 victory in the over 45s category.

Stu Dunlop overcame Andy Mitchell in the over 55s event.

There were also plate competitions for those defeated in the first round of the draws of the main events. These were well-supported and contested, and the 'plate roll of honour' is as follows:

Squash Plates

Main - Winner: Kelvin Limb. Runner-up: Pete Andrews.

O35 - Winner: Brett Perkins. Runner-up: Andy Mitchell.

O45/55 - Winner: Andy Mitchell. Runner-up: Kelvin Limb.

Junior - Winner: Dan Hillman. Runner-up: Nathan Stopper.

Racketball Plates

Main - Winner: Andy Mitchell. Runner-up: Gary Williamson.

O35 and O45/55 - Winner: Graham Quigley. Runner-up: Andy Stephenson.

A big thank you to Pete Andrews for all his hard work organising the events throughout the season.


Recent Posts
Search By Tags
Follow Us
  • Twitter Basic Square
  • Facebook Basic Square
bottom of page